Brad – Shame

OMG, it’s Stone Gossard’s other band!!!!!

Just kidding. I love this one, and I think the following words describe it accurately.

“Brad conveys emotion like Monet could paint flowers…with a natural ease and a unique style that cannot be denied. The uplifting songs on this album will make you feel elated, while the softer ballad-type songs will have you weeping like a child. When I first bought this, I could only listen to it in small doses. Too much would wear me out emotionally, and I would be put off from listening to it again for a long time. I only play it once every 2 years or so, but I still consider it one of my favorites. I remember back in ’94, driving my car in the rain, singing along, and all of a sudden, I’m sobbing like my dog died. A few songs later, I’m bobbing my head along to the music like I don’t have a care in the world. It’s that magical. Most musicians can only dream of crafting songs this real.” By Dokter Pogo (New Orleans)

“I actually first heard this cd when I was married in 1994. When my husband and I divorced, he kept the cd. For years I’ve had it in my head but couldn’t get my hands on it. I’ve actually been looking for it ever since and the local music stores didn’t have it. And I was so happy that I found it here, that I was dancing in the shower. I absolutely love this cd and it is a must for anyone who considers themselves to “know” good music.” By T. Draper “katsklawsgifts” (georgia)

Original Release Date: April 27, 1993

Tracklisting:

  1. Buttercup
  2. My Fingers
  3. Nadine
  4. Screen
  5. 20th Century
  6. Good News
  7. Raise Love
  8. Bad For the Soul
  9. Down
  10. Rockstar
  11. We
2 Responses to “Brad – Shame”

  1. This is an absolutely phenomenal album. I am a Pearl Jam fan and I loved the Gossard Vedder tunes Evenflow, Breath, Once, and some others the most. I later heard a report about Gossard in Brad from Tabitha Soren on MTV news in 1993 and then saw the video for “20th Century” and I loved both the vid and the song. I later got Shame and just loved it, it was sort of like a soulful, groovier, more rock influenced version of Depeche Mode’s Violator because of how somber many of the songs are. As a sidenote-I still think that “Funeral Song” on Interiors sounds like it belongs on Shame because of its sound and subject matter.

    • franciscogomes Says:

      Funny, 20th Century was my favourite song at first, then I embraced the “dark side” (lol :P) and started loving Buttercup and Screen. I still think Buttercup is my favourite Brad song overall (Shawn Smith plays it in his ‘Live at the Point’ bootleg, but I don’t think it sounds as good without the drums, although you should check it out if you haven’t already).

      Thank you for your comment! And by the way, Merry Christmas :)

Leave a Reply

