Gregory Hoskins – alone in the mayor’s house.. almost

This is the first time I’m posting a youtube clip to describe someone’s music, because the music speaks for itself, and it is the best way to describe this record. This clip is from the recording of the album (which took place in a house in Ontario, Canada [(…) This 160 year old stone house belonged to one of the town’s earliest mayors and served the local doctor for a time. (…) The hospitality, textures, and spirit of the home made a deep impression on me. I couldn t think of a better place to make a recording like this.]).

The recording was all done in 3 days, mainly because most songs are simple, featuring only an acoustic guitar. Then there are some songs with electric guitar overdubs (done by Gregory as well), and some drum tracks in about half the songs. As it was recorded in such a short amount of time, there was no time to do multiple takes on the songs, and it makes the album sound really ‘honest’ and raw.

Original Release Date: March 5, 2008


  1. Never a Stranger Kiss
  2. Illuminate Me
  3. Bittersweet
  4. Beautiful Parade
  5. Every Day
  6. Do What You Want
  7. Black Flakes of Memory
  8. Carry Me
  9. Real Beauty Aches
  10. The Man I Am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: