Morphine – Cure for Pain

If there’s an album I regret not having discovered earlier, it’s this one. It’s been out since 1993 and I’ve heard it for the first time only a few months ago.

And boy, do I remember the first time I listened to it. Or the first eight times, for that matter, because I listened to it eight times in a row when I discovered it.

I gotta give it up, this album quickly rose to the top of my ‘All-time favourites’ list. I only wish I could see them live, which is not possible since Mark Sandman (the frontman of the band) passed away in 1999, while performing in Italy. Their last full show had taken place in Lisbon, 2 or 3 days before.

They were one of the most innovative rock bands in the 90’s, with an unusual formation for a rock band: Drums, Bass and Saxophone. Even more unusual than that, Mark Sandman (the bass player/singer) used a 2-string bass (yes, really) and played it often with a slide. Dana Colley (sax) often used a Wah-Wah pedal when soloing, which is kind of unusual as well.

Original Release Date: September 1993

Tracklisting:

  1. Dawna
  2. Buena
  3. I’m Free Now
  4. All Wrong
  5. Candy
  6. A Head With Wings
  7. In Spite of Me
  8. Thursday
  9. Cure For Pain
  10. Mary Won’t You Call My Name?
  11. Let’s Take a Trip Together
  12. Sheila
  13. Miles Davis’ Funeral

If you don’t know this album already, give it a listen. You know you want to.

Leave a Reply

