Archive for October, 2008

Radiohead – Kid A

Posted in Albums with tags , on October 30, 2008 by franciscogomes

I promised myself I wouldn’t post “classic” albums, I know, but as I started playing this on my iPod, I felt a sudden urge to post it here, so I think it’d be unfair not to post it.

The follow-up to the album many claim to be “Best album from the 90’s” (OK Computer) is as far apart from its predecessor as it could be. Kid A has a much more electronic feel than OK Computer, very little guitar’s present in this album. Most fans didn’t welcome it at first, because of it being so different, but time put this album right where it belonged.’s Best of 2000
How is it that Kid A‘s opening track, laden with an electronic vocal stuttering “bleh, bluh-bleh bleh bluh” is the most fascinating statement made in rock & roll this year? Because somehow, even when Radiohead blathers and blips nonsense, it’s profound. The band’s future-perfect musical grammar may be hard to decipher, and the melody is even more subliminal, but the journey traveled with Radiohead reveals them to be not only rock music’s greatest adventurers in 2000, but teachers as well. –Beth Massa

Original Release Date: October 3, 2000


  1. Everything in its Right Place
  2. Kid A
  3. The National Anthem
  4. How to Disappear Completely
  5. Treefingers
  6. Optimistic
  7. In Limbo
  8. Idioteque
  9. Morning Bell
  10. Motion Picture Soundtrack

Porcupine Tree – Deadwing

Posted in Albums with tags , on October 26, 2008 by franciscogomes

Original Release Date: April 26, 2005


  1. Deadwing
  2. Shallow
  3. Lazarus
  4. Halo
  5. Arriving Somewhere but not Here
  6. Mellotron Scratch
  7. Open Car
  8. The Start of Something Beautiful
  9. Glass Arm Shattering

Esbjörn Svensson Trio – Seven Days of Falling

Posted in Albums with tags , , on October 25, 2008 by franciscogomes

Original Release Date: August 24, 2004


  1. Ballad for the Unborn
  2. Seven Days of Falling
  3. Mingle in the Mincing-Machine
  4. Evening in Atlantis
  5. Did they ever tell Cousteau?
  6. Believe Beleft Below
  7. Elevation of Love
  8. In My Garage
  9. Why She Couldn’t Come
  10. O.D.R.I.P.

Brad – Shame

Posted in Albums with tags , , , on October 24, 2008 by franciscogomes

OMG, it’s Stone Gossard’s other band!!!!!

Just kidding. I love this one, and I think the following words describe it accurately.

“Brad conveys emotion like Monet could paint flowers…with a natural ease and a unique style that cannot be denied. The uplifting songs on this album will make you feel elated, while the softer ballad-type songs will have you weeping like a child. When I first bought this, I could only listen to it in small doses. Too much would wear me out emotionally, and I would be put off from listening to it again for a long time. I only play it once every 2 years or so, but I still consider it one of my favorites. I remember back in ’94, driving my car in the rain, singing along, and all of a sudden, I’m sobbing like my dog died. A few songs later, I’m bobbing my head along to the music like I don’t have a care in the world. It’s that magical. Most musicians can only dream of crafting songs this real.” By Dokter Pogo (New Orleans)

“I actually first heard this cd when I was married in 1994. When my husband and I divorced, he kept the cd. For years I’ve had it in my head but couldn’t get my hands on it. I’ve actually been looking for it ever since and the local music stores didn’t have it. And I was so happy that I found it here, that I was dancing in the shower. I absolutely love this cd and it is a must for anyone who considers themselves to “know” good music.” By T. Draper “katsklawsgifts” (georgia)

Original Release Date: April 27, 1993


  1. Buttercup
  2. My Fingers
  3. Nadine
  4. Screen
  5. 20th Century
  6. Good News
  7. Raise Love
  8. Bad For the Soul
  9. Down
  10. Rockstar
  11. We

Albert King & Stevie Ray Vaughan – In Session

Posted in Albums with tags , , on October 23, 2008 by franciscogomes

Original Release Date: August 17, 1999


  1. Call it Stormy Monday
  2. Old Times
  3. Pride and Joy
  4. Ask Me No Questions
  5. Pep Talk
  6. Blues at Sunrise
  7. Turn it Over
  8. Overall Junction
  9. Match Box Blues
  10. Who is Stevie?
  11. Don’t Lie to Me

Death from Above 1979 – You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine

Posted in Albums with tags , on October 23, 2008 by franciscogomes

Original Release Date: October 26, 2004


  1. Turn it Out
  2. Romantic Rights
  3. Going Steady
  4. Go Home, Get Down
  5. Blood on Our Hands
  6. Black History Month
  7. Little Girl
  8. Cold War
  9. You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine
  10. Pull Out
  11. Sexy Results

John Butler Trio – Sunrise Over Sea

Posted in Albums with tags , on October 19, 2008 by franciscogomes

This is how it begins:

Original Release Date: March 15, 2005


  1. Treat Yo Mama
  2. Peaches & Cream
  3. Company Sin
  4. What You Want
  5. Damned to Hell
  6. Hello
  7. Bound to Ramble
  8. Seeing Angels
  9. There’ll Come a Time
  10. Zebra
  11. Mist
  12. Oldman
  13. Sometimes